Lost In The Woods 2017 Race Report

This is a small local baby Barkley type race that took place April 29th at 7 mile creek park near St. Peter, MN.  It’s around 30 miles long with an advertised elevation of 8000 ft of gain.  There are 11 books we had to collect pages from on each of 3 laps.  We were given a different page number to get each lap.  The first lap was counter-clockwise, 2nd was clockwise, and 3rd alternating.

The race started at 7am but registration started at 5am so you’d have time to look over the map and written directions of the course.  The course was about 2/3rds on trail, a short bit on a road, with the rest on deer trail or no trail.  I’ve been to the park before so I knew about what to expect as I love to go off trail in this park.  There are many unofficial trails that we routinely run on.  This is about the only place in southern MN to get over 200 ft steep hills.  Along the Mississippi river is steep too but that’s hours from where I live.

Lost in the woods 2
One of the steeper hills.  Photo credit: Kevin Langton

At 7am 20 of us started off with only 14 finishing.  I wasn’t at the first running of this race 2 years ago but I was told it was easier and the race director was “disappointed” that everyone finished.  This year he wasn’t disappointed.  It was 38 degrees so I started with a long sleeve shirt knowing I’d be hot by the end of the lap.

I stayed back a little from the front group to let them figure out where to go off trail to find the books.  Everything was well marked but that doesn’t mean you can’t run right past where you’re supposed to turn.  Plus, since we were so close in the beginning you ended up waiting for the person in front of you to tear out the page in the book anyway.  Why run fast just to wait at the next book.  The first book I ended up tearing the page horribly, so I ended up with 3 pieces to get it out and make sure I had the page number on it, all the while people waiting behind me.  I guess the lesson is to learn how to tear really brittle yellow paper out of books in the woods with gloves on.

The books aren’t really hidden which is good and bad.  Good since it’s easy to find them, and bad because the park was pretty popular that day with mushroom hunters and other people doing some sort of naturalist type things (I never asked what they were doing) off trail where we were.

lost in the woods 6
Can you see me?  Somewhere on lap 2. Photo Credit: Kevin Langton

The first 2 books felt great climbing up the hills.  Basically go up find a book and come back down, just to do it again.  The only out and back uphill was book 3 which I think everyone dreaded by the 3rd lap.  I’m not sure if it was just the steepness or the fact that it was an out and back, but no one liked it.  It seemed like it took forever to go up and only 20 seconds to get down.  That’s probably not reality though.  The books all had great titles to them which I have mostly forgotten.  But I remember book 3’s title: Dead End

Lost in the woods 1
Still early on so it’s easy to smile.  Photo credit: Kevin Langton

So continued the seemingly endless task of climbing up a hill just to go back down again.  Like you constantly keep forgetting something downstairs at home and have to keep going back down to get it, except the stairs are 200 ft hills.  There are a couple longish flatter sections to break it up a little bit but for the most part you’re either ascending or descending in this race.

There is a aid station out of the park between book 5 and 6 that you have to climb up to get to.  They had awesome candy bars, pop, water, etc there.  The race director said there is a short loop to do at the aid station.  Well yes it’s short, but also straight down and then straight back up just to go back down to get on the course again.  The section back to the course did have my favorite tree on the entire course though.

Lost in the woods 3
Favorite tree.  Photo credit: Kevin Langton
lost in the woods 4
First time through so I wasn’t quite sure where to go.  Photo credit: Kevin Langton

Then on to book 6 where some barbed wire sticking out of the ground almost got me.  Speaking of thorny things, I got somewhat scratched and cut up from this race.  There are plenty of thorny bushes, berry patches, and shrubs to get you on this course.  I wish I would’ve taken a picture of my legs.  I had cuts everywhere but really only remember 2 of them happening.

There was a punch after this book to punch the pages you had so far.  This was to determine which direction you had traveled the course.  Next was a longer flat section before turning uphill to book 7.  Then between 7 and 8 gets sucky again.  Scott the RD was sitting along the course making sure we all made the turn straight down a steep rutted out path.  I enjoyed it the first lap, not so much the 3rd.  Basically you go down this hill just to come back up it in a different spot and end up about 20 feet from where you started down the hill.  All of this to get book 8.

Book 9 was fairly straightforward.lost in the woods 5

Book 10 I almost ran past or was that 11.  It’s already becoming a blur after only a week.  After 11 you go back to the start at the RD house.  This is the only other aid station.  I changed into cooler clothes as it was warming up some.  First lap time was 2:25.

The next section was clockwise.  I had got to talking with Ed who I hadn’t met before but we both did Arrowhead this year.  I always love meeting new people during the race.  We were talking pretty much non-stop the second lap and before we knew it, we were at the aid station.  Oops.  We missed book 6.  Back we went to get it and then finally noticed the 3 foot long pink ribbon showing the turn off for it.  Guess we got talking too much.  He had to do the aid station loop twice since he missed it the first time and so I didn’t see him until the end of the race.

I missed the turn to book 1 as well but I think a lot of people did.  Finally I got back to the start.  5:14 total time so far so that lap was about 2:45 without the stop time.  I was happy with this as I had to leave by 4pm to pick up the kids so I was on track to get done by then.  I definitely wasn’t in condition for this much elevation so I was starting to feel it.

lost in the woods 7
This was there at the end of lap 2.  Photo Credit: Kevin Langton

Since the leader picked clockwise (thanks TJ, NOT) and I was in 5th place, I had to go clockwise.  Off I went.  I had been eating the entire race and drinking what seemed like a lot but my stomach just didn’t feel quite right and I wasn’t really peeing any so I suspect I was somehow dehydrated.  It slowed me down.

Right away I saw one of the leaders coming back up the hill to the start due to injury.  Now I was 4th I guess, but still had to go clockwise.  I didn’t miss the turn to book 6 this time since I was by myself.  Ed had started the mid-way aid station loop just before I got there so I never ended up seeing him.  I never saw the other counter-clockwise leader  either and found out later he dropped at the aid station.

Finally it dawned on me to take some antacids as this wasn’t my first time down full stomach lane.  In fact it happens almost every race, just not in the first 20 miles.  They kicked in around book 4 (counting down book numbers now since clockwise lap).  The last 3 books I felt great (still hated book 3 but felt better at least).  Too bad I didn’t think of taking them sooner.  I saw some people looking kind of sad while looking for mushrooms.  I told them some people were already in that spot 3 hours ago with bags full of them.  They seemed somewhat relieved.

I even made the turn for book 1 this time but when I got to where the book should’ve been, it wasn’t there.  3 people coming from the other direction on the start of their lap 3 also couldn’t find it.  Remember all those people in the park?  Turns out someone must’ve taken it as no one ever found it.  I took a picture with them to prove we all looked together and hoped for the best.

Jpeg
I’m still smiling so it couldn’t have been that hard of a race.

I got to the finish line and rang the bell at 8:12 for 4th place.  Ed had beaten me in which I wasn’t surprised by.  So that lap took about 2:50 with the down time and looking for book 1 taken out.  Scott allowed my finish without book 1 since it was gone and someone had texted him.

I had some time to eat the great finish line food they had for us before leaving to get the kids.  They even offered the shower which was awesome.  Thanks!

This race would be much harder/scarier/more fun if it was raining the whole time.  There are some steep slopes on it.  The conditions on race day were pretty good.  The mud was firm enough to get a grip on and not slip.  I usually use gps visualizer to make an elevation profile of races.  I find it to be much more accurate than google earth.  It came up with the race having more elevation than advertised.  Almost 10,000.  Who knows?  I can assure you it wasn’t under 8000 total.

Into the woods Elevation Profile
Clockwise lap 3

This is a great race!  I hope Scott continues to put it on.  I wish I could’ve stayed to watch everyone else come in.  I’m sure there were great stories.  We all got an email of the official results and there were some pretty good comments on why people dropped out.  My favorite was someone wanted a burrito.  I’m sure there’s more to that story.  I wished I would’ve taken a picture of the bell we rang when we finished.  Guess you’ll just have to run the race to see it.

Leave a Reply

